Soul for Friday

To cheer myself up, I thought I’d post some of the songs I have on repeat. Common theme: distinctive female vocals and songs that need a full listen to be appreciated.

One Paloma Faith, dubbed “London’s favourite glamourpuss goofball” by Time Out London. I love her retro/artistic/dramatic style, and I love her voice. Her first album was dramatic and yearning, and her new one Perfect Contradiction has a funky, soul vibe – a homage to a bygone era. Her backing singers are quite frankly amazing – but then I’ve always thought that backing singers often out-sing and out-dance the main act. Also: they’re wearing all plaid and singing in a kitchen. That saucepan riff is quite frankly one of my favourite bits.

Two Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings (yes, again. Be prepared to see them, Hot 8 and Sam Cooke constantly reappearing). Just…well… listen.

Three Barbara Dane – the woman who counted Louis Armstrong among her fans. I’ve moved right back through time for this one.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Soul for Friday

  1. Thom Hickey says:

    Thanks . Nice varied playlist! I’ll check back for more. You may enjoy my recent post on the immortal jukebox on swing in’ summer sisters! Regards Thom.

  2. kirimk8 says:

    Loved that post, Thom! Great to have a new blog to follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

