In praise of Phone Shop

It’s not just the fact that I’ve chained myself to a laptop for a week to crunch out a draft of my dissertation and Phone Shop is my light relief. It’s hilarious. It’s also got a very clever  script with a lot of zinging one-liners, but the real triumph is the cast, who are credited with improvising the script too.  At turns slapstick and satirical, Phone Shop is a comedy on a many levels and I enjoy every single one, from the basement up. And if you don’t believe me, read the Guardian’s review of Season 3.

Just one example of the silly, self-referential style:

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

