Courage

Last night, on my way home I saw this tweet from Vicky Beeching:

Her coming out as a gay Christian will no doubt comfort and inspire others (and probably horrify a fair few too). She is so very, very brave.

Here is the interview with her by the Independent.

I was struck by her comment on integrity.

“What Jesus taught was a radical message of welcome and inclusion and love. I feel certain God loves me just the way I am, and I have a huge sense of calling to communicate that to young people. When I think of myself at 13, sobbing into that carpet, I just want to help anyone in that situation to not have to go through what I did, to show that instead, you can be yourself – a person of integrity.”

It’s important to be honest about who you are and bring all of you to bear, living authentically from your heart. Too often we (wider society, in the Church and beyond) have forced people who might be gay, or queer, or in any way different to the norms we expect of men or women to hide their lights or dim them – mostly for our own comfort and convenience. In doing so, I believe we make it hard for them to live with integrity – dignity even. This can wound; it can even kill. And it deprives us collectively as a society of so many bright and beautiful lights, each unique in their own way, as we all are, and who make the sky more lovely to look at.

Shine bright, Vicky. It’s good to see you.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

