The N-Word Project

The Washington Post is doing a project looking at the evolution of the n-word and its contemporary use in America today. It features a lot of different people in conversation, and depending on your views you can see have some custom videos made for you… and add your own.

One of my favourite writers had this to say:

I don’t know what I think. I don’t like the word and I don’t use it myself – but a lot of comedians I like do. It definitely depends who is saying it and why. But it has a history. And language has power. I do think the people whose history is marked by it should decide how and when it’s used. But black people aren’t a monolith – there will always be many, many diverse views.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

