Where words fall short

I didn’t really expect anything different from the Ferguson verdict, but it was still disappointing. Words seem so inadequate. I’ve nothing to add to the many eloquent voices I’ve heard and read today…and so many other days. Mike Brown. Trayvon Martin. Tamir Rice. Mark Duggan. Cynthia Jarrett. Renisha McBride. I just remember.

Remembering

Soft grey ghosts crawl up my sleeve

to peer into my eyes

while I within deny their threats

and answer them with lies.

 

Mushlike memories perform

a ritual on my lips

I lie in stolid hopelessness

and they lay my soul in strips.

– Maya Angelou

Tagged

Leave a Reply

