Brass Funkeys

I had the unexpected pleasure of attending the Brassroots Brass Bands Bash  in Shoreditch on 4 May, the Bank Holiday.

Unexpected, because I didn’t realise it was an annual thing. Or a thing.

And a pleasure because there is nothing like a good brass band with attitude. My favourites were the Brass Funkeys, the youngest band of the night among the more established acts, with a disruptive spirit and joyfulness that was irresistible. They played a lot of their own music, which was really cool; some of the more established bands stuck mostly to covers. Their song #1 and their cover of the Jungle Book classic “I Wanna Be Like You” are my favourite songs this year so far.

Another highlight was Mr Wilson’s Second Liners, who led a conga line from Shoreditch Church into The Blues Kitchen for the festival proper. It was such a delicious pleasure to have them cover No Limit, my favourite song off my first cassette. Now there’s a word I haven’t typed in a long time. There’s no video of that, but here’s them covering Ace of Bace’s All That She Wants, my favourite song off the….er…second cassette I ever bought.

Feeling old. But it was such a great night. Definitely going back next year!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

